LocalBoy & His Fotographs

By stevenbirrell

Time And Space To Think

This is St Mary's Cathedral in Edinburgh. I took this whilst sitting on the front step of an office after I'd finished up on a conference call. The new phone takes a half decent photo, definitely a lot better than the last one.

Once upon a time I used to work not far from here. When my dad was diagnosed with cancer, I would come here at lunchtimes and sit in the gardens of the cathedral to try to make sense of it all (I never did) or escape from the real world for a while (I sometimes did but it wasn't too far away). I would think, sometimes cry, sometimes talk to myself or no one in particular. But I always left here feeling better than when I arrived and for that I am always thankful. Now I always walk or drive past with a smile.

Today a friendly golden retriever ran up to me with a stick, looking to play and it made me smile again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.