LL Cool Jim

By LLCoolJim

The Jazz Man

Ken was a Jazz Man. He was also an exceptional artist.

He did this picture in 1986. It used to hang in the house in Drumbeg. I told him it was my favourite piece of his artwork. He was well aware that I coveted it. One Christmas he wrapped it up and gave it to me as a present. What a great surprise of a gift. It hangs proudly under the stairs in our house now. A Ken Garden original.


The captain of the ship passed away last night. Scobesy was with him, and Mrs Cool Jim arrived just as he drew his last breath. She felt his heartbeat at that very moment too. A blessing. He was peaceful at the end, mercifully. This last week of his suffering is something I will never forget. Seeing this former colossus of a man look to you helplessly, slightly confused, unable to speak, in excruciating discomfort and clutching at the bedclothes.......... well, it is very difficult to deal with.

Being given 6 weeks to 6 months to live and only getting 4 weeks is equally difficult to deal with. And cruel. He did get to see his 64th at least but his luck ran out....

Or did it?

My abiding memory of his stay in the Hospice will be this beautiful story.

It was Saturday afternoon (just past). There were close family around chatting to him (essential, even if he cannot reciprocate). I was feeling useless. I really wanted something to take his mind (however briefly) off the rapidly impending death.

A couple of nights earlier I'd offered to drive to the Cask & Barrel (aka the Beard & Cardigan coz of Ken) to smuggle out a pint of IPA and give him just one last sip of the pale stuff straight from the tap. He declined that offer. Things must be bad, we all thought!

Today I was determined.

Ken loved a wee wager on the nags. I sat with the newspaper and read out some of the horses' names for a potential one to back. One that had to be aptly named. That's all that mattered for this bit of fun.
He shook his head at one or two then Bingo! I found it...."Noble Citizen" running in the 4.55 at Kempton. I told him that I was gonna back it. I had 20 minutes to get to Coral at Goldenacre. Scobesy and I headed straight there and put what we had in change on it. £7. I had to ask a fella to fill it in coz it had been so long since I'd bet on a horse (they don't have a back sheet on the slip now either). "It's a dying man's last bet", I said to him. He filled it in but didn't put the horse's name, just its number. It was number 7. Cool, I thought, lucky number 7. I took the odds of 7-1 coz I thought the price might come in a bit. It wasn't a favourite by any means.

Back we went to the hospice.

We got caught up chatting and didn't get to listen to it.

"Shit - what about the race" I said to Scobes.

Back along to Ken's room and Scobes turns the fancy tv thing on.

"And Hibs have won away in Aberdeen for the 1st time since 2005. Double for Riordan."

"Yes, ya beauty", we shouted.
They won Ken's last game.

"Get the teletext up, Scobes. Check the other results first."

Hearts 1 Kilmarnock 2.

"Ya dancer! This is all for you, Ken. Surely we cannae get a third stroke of luck. Now the horses, Scobes, page 667"

Page 667 comes up and there are 3 pages to get through.

We wait.


And wait.


Page 1 turns to page 2.


We wait.


And wait.


Page 2 turns to page 3.



1st Noble Citizen 11/2.

"Whooo-hooooo!!! And we took the better price too!"


Ken hadn't said a word all day. It was too difficult.

"What should we do with the winnings, Ken? Another horse or drink it?"

"Drink it", he croaked.

The last thing he ever said to me.

We duly did as we were told.


The night before he died, a film called Lucky Number Slevin was on the tv. It involves gambling on horses and some shady bookies.

Ken's condition changed and eased somewhat after that and he died peacefully on the 7th.

At approximately 7pm.

Some guys have all the luck......

......especially this Noble Citizen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.