horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Should have been an otter...

Why? Well because I got a very close otter encounter not long after taking this shot...

I'd actually been speaking to one of the 'Friends of Figgate Park' about a week ago and someone had reported they'd seen an otter. Well tonight we came face to face as she chased a Coot from some undergrowth, then stopped two yards from me for a moment to take in what I was before disappearing back into from whence she came, I spent almost half an hour, as the light faded, trying to get a photo, but she was elusive, only leaving behind tantalising glimpses and rusting reeds.

Naturally I'm going to leave for work slightly early tomorrow and have a gander. Actually, tempted just to get up early and go down before breakfast...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.