Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

Bushtit secrets

I'm still not sure of the status of the bushtit family. I haven't seen evidence of hatchlings or fledglings and the parents are still bringing in nesting material. It's harder to see the comings and goings now with the clematis leafed out. They seem to be rotating duties the last couple of days - one will leave the nest as the other comes in, which makes me think they're sitting on eggs. It's been more than six weeks since I first noticed the nest!

I'm so tuned in to their little call-- it's a very tiny "tsst tsst," a bit like a hummingbird but more intermittent. As soon as I hear it, my focus goes to the courtyard to watch for activity, as they always call when they approach the nest. This morning I sat with my coffee and my camera and watched and waited - I would see them swooping down from the walnut trees, over the roof and down to the witch hazel shrub before entering the nest. They're quite predictable that way -- but what's going on inside the nest is a mystery!

Look LARGE

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.