Patrona

By patrona

Tiger Lily

There is something so appealing about this Iris (someone will tell me its name). It is not just the visual appeal of the bold yet subtle colours, the crimson and yellow, but also the very sensuality of the flower. The petals are soft and velvety and seem to harbour a dew drop of moisture even at the end of a dry and sunny day. They resemble a peach skin with that fresh bloom and tactile texture. Just to lightly stoke with a forefinger sends a shiver.

What a pity that they are erratic flowerers in my garden. I think it is three years since this one last appeared, am I doing something wrong, should I lift and separate or leave well alone?

However this pretty thing and its near neighbour, which is a pale washed out blue, are welcome if infrequent visitors

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.