Picaday Anyday

By Picaday

At last!!

Lat October during Shetland Wool Week, a short story competition was launched. The story was to be between 100 and 300 words long and could be about a long connection to something wool related, a person who wore or worked with wool, a single garment, a special place, or it might even be about an individual sheep.
The overall winner would be presented with a Vi-Spring bed worth a whopping £11,000 and the 40 runners-up would receive a copy of the above book.
As my father and grandfather were both weavers of real Shetland wool I decided to have a go at the competition and duly entered my written piece of work.
I was delighted when I received a letter to say I was one of the runners-up, especially now as my father has passed away and I wanted future generations in my family to know of the special work he and my grandfather did. My father worked exclusively in the pure natural colours of Shetland sheep and, although I cannot weave, I have taught myself how to knit natural colourd shawls.
Last night my sister and I attended the launch of the above book. It is so beautifully put together with many colour photos. The photo of my father at the weaving loom is of course in black and white because of when it was taken, but I am SO proud of him.
I wore his watch to the occasion. A beautiful Waltham watch which we 'shared' while he was alive and which he gave to me to keep 4 years before he passed away.
I know he was with me when I was presented with the book.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.