Tanuki

It rained today for 15 minutes. I live 15 minutes away from the restaurant where I had my lunch. I left the restaurant and it started raining. I got in my house and it stopped. Bloody typical.

The statue in the blip is of an animal called a tanuki. They are a big part of Japanese folklore and people put the statues outside restaurants to bring good luck. One notable feature of these statues is that the tanuki must have unfeasibly large testicles, Buster Gonad style.

Years ago, when I asked some Japanese people about the tanuki they taught me a schoolyard song that children sing. Here's the Japanese, but check out the wikipedia page for the translation. And remember, this is a children's song.

Tan Tan Tanuki no kintama wa,
Kaze mo nai no ni
Bura bura

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.