TimeLapse

By JillyMint

Towards the Wrekin

Best large ....
I've been passing this field for a few days but today, on the way home from work, I made a more determined effort to find an effective spot with an uninterrupted view. Of course, now that I'm home, the sun has come out and there are patches of blue sky. Law of the sod I'm afraid....
Anyway this is a view of the Wrekin, a hill which is a prominent and well-known landmark in this part of mid-Shropshire. It is 1,335ft (407 metres) high and has (so I am told) good views of Shropshire, Staffordshire and the Black Country and on a clear day(tra lalala) you can see Manchester, Lancashire and Gloucestershire. I've lived here for 8 years and still haven't climbed it.
One year (must have been Christmas because there was snow on the ground) Simon, Helen and I set off to climb it but took the wrong path and ended up at the top of the Ercall (Ercall Hill), the much smaller (459ft/ 140m) wooded hill to the left. We really must try again this year.
It is made of volcanic rock but is not a volcano (?). One rocky outcrop is called the Needle's Eye (cut by an axe thrown by one of the 2 giants who were fighting over the Wrekin). It is said that a maiden passing through the Eye must give her man a kiss on emerging at the other side. Otherwise she will pay the penalty of never marrying.
There are a lot more stories about the Wrekin involving giants and devils.
I have my torch and bat detector ready for the night's bat walk at 8.30 tomorrow night but my special trip is now on Saturday morning which is probably better for me pace-wise. Happy days!
Canon 1d; 65mm; ISO400; f/13; 1/640"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.