Beth Wester Ross

By bethceol

Early in the morning....

So, my day today started with seeing the red sky reflected out front, grabbing the camera and dashing out to the garden, in the pyjamas with dog in tow. I had left my other lens in school, so had to make do with the telephoto. I also had the choice of cropping out the elecricity cables, but that would have meant missing some of the fantastic colour.

Feeling suitably chuffed at getting a possible blip so early in the day, I rushed upstairs to do the usual ablutions. To my horror, there was a MOUSE - sitting stock still at the entrance to the wee bedroom. It was just SITTING there. I don't understand why it didn't scarper when I turned the air blue with my expletive.

I got a wee basket over it, and managed to get it downstairs, out the door, out the garden and onto the opposite croft. When I let it go, it just looked up at me..... honest, it wasn't dead. It moved when Dimairt made a dash for it.

The mice have eaten my covers of my sun loungers (again!) - my family will not be surprised to learn that I forgot to take them in from the shed - a blanket I left out there, and my gardening gloves. Now, they're back in the house. Last year, I had to throw out my spare matresses and pillows. I've got all those electronic gizmos, and have used humane (and not so humane) traps, but they keep coming back. I wonder if anyone does a service of sealing your house against invasion.

I am SKUNNERED with the wee buggers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.