NoodlePix

By Pix

Running

This is not the first time I have written myself a motivational fitness blip. I got a bit complacent with the training regime; I had observed short breaks from running not having an effect on my fitness; I had observed a bit more food and wine not having a noticable effect either; I reckoned that a week off whilst i worked hard in the Isle of Man would not matter (and anyway I'd be on my feet all day and burn energy with adrenaline). But then that was compounded with being ill, and being ill again, and then a walking holiday with more illness meaning not much walking got done, and before I knew it, I had had a month off, and gained some weight, and the effects were suddenly very noticable. So I began running again a few weeks ago, and it was very tough; I remembered how it felt when I first started running, and it wasn't nice. But I want to get back to where i was before. I want to run the (20 mile and hilly) nine edges race for the third time in September, and that really does seem like a tough objective. I will need to make consistent progress from quite a low base to be able to do it. And of course I want to run it faster than last time, and for it to hurt less, so that means no more slacking. Lately I have been having to really force myself out of the door. The weather hasn't helped, but it never really used to bother me - what's going on there? I'm just writing this now in the hope that saying it out loud will help motivate me.

While I am taking the time to write a bit, I should also thank everyone for the comments on the 500th. Nice to know peeps are still there and looking sometimes. I do too (look that is), sometimes, though I rarely comment. I've been thinking a lot about blip and why I do it. In the past there have been many very different reasons for doing it, and I was quite clear about them at the time. Now I'm not. See how it goes...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.