Nice to be wanted

Today it rained solidly. Funny phrase that; it ought to mean 'hail' (solid rain), but you know what I mean: relentless wetness falling from the sky. Shame, as it was the last day of my break before my sister heads home tomorrow. Then it's back to Carer duties for me. My poor mother has had three falls in the past two weeks while I've been off-duty. She's lost her appetite since she developed a cough. And although the cough is clearing up, she still has no interest in food. So, she's weak and her legs keep giving way under her. So ... it's going to be hard work taking up the reins again. As usual, if my comments are few and far between, please forgive me.

Feeling a bit despondent, I checked my email just before heading off to line-dancing, and there was a letter from an editor commissioning a children's poetry book. Was there ever better timing? Something to cheer me up and occupy me as I while away hours looking after my dear mum. Thank you, Muse, or Great Pal, or both. That's cheered me hugely.

Of course, such things are always highly confidential, etc. but Photoshop's pencil and liquefy have helped keep this under wraps, so that I can just share my delight, without giving away any publishers' plans. Suffice it to say, my work's to be in very good company, and I'm chuffed to bits.

Now to get writing ...!

By mothers or publishers - it's nice to be wanted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.