The long journey

By thelongjourney

Upside Down

Long day at work, gym, dinner....put my feet up watching a brilliant movie "Across the universe". It is a musical with all covers of Beatles songs which narrates the love story between this upper middle class American girl Lucy and Jude from Liverpool who had gone to America looking for his father. The story takes place in the America of the 60s, on a background of racial fights and the Vietnam war. What I loved the most about the movie apart from the awesome adaptations of the songs and some very cool guest stars (Joe Cocker and Bono) was the feeling of freedom that it brings out. I highly recommend it, at least for a sing along :).

I was very tempted to use one of the songs in the movie for my daily quote but decided to stay in the theme for the assignment. In my head this picture was a lot better but what comes out is never quite as good as you expect. Still I thought of being true to the first idea I had about this assignment and tried to capture my upside down reflection in a spoon...yes, that's what this is trying to be :).

Chris

"Who's to say
What's impossible
Well they forgot
This world keeps spinning
And with each new day
I can feel a change in everything
And as the surface breaks reflections fade
But in some ways they remain the same
And as my mind begins to spread its wings
There's no stoppin' curiosity

I wanna turn the whole thing upside down
I'll find the things they say just can't be found
I'll share this love I find with everyone
We'll sing and dance to Mother Nature's song
I don't want this feeling to go away"

Upside down - Jack Johnson

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.