if not for this

By chopkinsknits

Remembering

When I was a trainee health visitor in Pegswood Northumberland in the late 1970s an elderly lady, a miner's widow, gave me this , with the words 'you are newly married you might like this for your home'. She explained she had not made it herself but had bought it many years previously at a sale of work. It was quite old but unused.

Since then it has covered the top of my dressing table. It has been washed, starched, ironed, splashed with make-up and washed, starched and ironed again. The simple drawn-thread work has come undone in one place and one edge has frayed, but it looks lovelier every year.

As I ironed and put it back this morning I thought about that lady and wished she could know how I have treasured her present.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.