Mediocrity Photography

By EqoZ

Movable Type-type Type

After 2 days of staying home sick (not terribly miserable, just tired), I braved the last day of the week at work. My energy level held up through the day, so I decided to go to to a "micro-event" at the Discovery World Museum after work.

My girl was out of town for a bridal shower, so I was flying solo, but the event had sounded interesting to me, called "Move: Cycling, Design, The Human Body in Motion" I could have rested and go the following day, but tonight would save me ~$12 in admission fees, so my decision was made for me.

A cash bar greeted me, the first attendee, and the museum had various bike/design-centric features scattered around. You could get your face laser-etched on a badge for your bike, you could make your own bike hats or messenger bags or laser cut bike-themed lamp shades or even a handlebar mustache to put on your handlebars (get it?) I had a portrait taken with my bike and had a nice long chat with the photographers and even rested upon a bed of nails (more accurately: had a bed of nails brought up under me.). And that didn't even include the regular museum exhibits! (I LOVE children's museums, they're so much more fun than traditional ones.)

A design studio had a set-up for screen printing your own bike-themed shirts (made one for my girl), a computer lab had a Creative Director from COG Magazine, giving a behind-the-scenes of designing the magazine. This room also had trays of metal movable type, absolute typography pr0n for a designer like myself! I tried not to be a nuisance with my picture-taking, I could have taken FAR more.

I left early-ish (but later than intended), trying to be somewhat responsible, since my energy was quickly dwindling. As a result, I had to keep myself from being sidetracked with photo excursions on my bike ride home. It was difficult, but I did my best.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.