wildinlailand

By wildinlailand

Buff Tips (Phalera Bucephala)

A right pair of Tips. Had to be careful how to spell that one. I am proud to say that I have raised these two beasties from eggs. I was given some eggs and caterpillars last July 2011 by the Lancashire Moth recorder to have a go at breeding . They were raised on silver birch and pupated in a box of compost in August. They have been happily sat on a shelf in an ice cream box in my garden shed right thru the winter until now. Two of the 6 have just emerged. After a quick photocall in the garden they were released back onto my birch tree. Here's hoping the rest come out. Moth update 10:25pm they are still sat on a twig in the birch tree and have not moved. Speculation has already begun about their fate. Will they become a bat snack for my local colony or a blackbird snack for Mrs B who is sat on eggs in a bush on my garage wall or will they survive to procreate. One two son Ciaran reckons that they will be okay as long as they stay in twig mode. The moths are superbly camouflaged taking on the form of a cut twig. A most amazing thing evolution. I have to say that they have been more fascinating to raise that tadpoles.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.