Rob Hood

It was a fantastic night at Jackhammer, with a brilliant set from Rob Hood. It was a mix of minimal techno and old house classics with Blue Monday thrown in for good measure.

There are more photos from the night here if you're interested (or if I gave you a blip card tonight).

It was just as good as my, somewhat hazy memories of the twice I've seen him before. He played an Edinburgh club called Summer House twice back in 93 and 94. The first time he played I got chatting to him for a bit and he was a really nice guy. He ended up giving me a couple of records including a blue label promo of hat was supposed to be his forthcoming single. In the end it got released as a double album and two of the tracks on the promo were dropped and never released. It means my copy is worth a small fortune now. Not that I'd ever art with it though.

At the end of the night I gave him my number and said to call if he was ever back in Edinburgh. A few months later I was sat in the flat and the phone rang. My flatmate said it was an American guy on the phone for me. I assumed it was my mate Ray, but it turned out to be Rob. It did take a while before I believed it wasn't just Ray winding me up. It turned out he was playing Edinburgh again and wanted to catch up. HE did another great set at Summer house then ended up coming back to my friend Claire's house for a party and dj'ing for hours there as well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.