6 o'clock shadow

By amanshu

Happy Columbia Turnpike Day

Twelve years ago today I was on holiday with Jon and Roby - two of my closest friends at the time. We were in America on a road called Columbia Turnpike when I saw them get hit by a pick up truck.

Fortunately they both survived.

The first four years afterwards we spent separately. Roby was recovering from a coma, Jon was struggling with depression and I was dealing with post traumatic stress.

The next seven years we made a point of always meeting up on, or near, the anniversary to celebrate being alive. The simple, easy, pure magic of life.

Unfortunately time, as always, moved on and we spread across the country. Today will be the first time in a long time that I'll spend without seeing either of them.

So I'm concentrating on the simple things that let you know you're alive. A beautiful woman, a film you've been looking forward to, a few drinks and a nice meal.

Today's blip is about as simple an expression of life as I can think of. Who doesn't remember the sheer delight of finding a ladybug hiding on a leaf? The childish joy of scrumping around in a garden and innocently exploring it's unexpected treasures?

Happy Columbia Turnpike Day! I hope you find the chance to remember just how wonderful it is to be you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.