Up North

By Carwij

Louise

Today I lost my dear friend Louise. She just went to sleep last night to never wake up again. She was only 39 years old....

Her worst fear had come true, to die before her son would be old enough to take care of himself. That fear was not unfounded for her condition was never good. She had diabetes, asthma, fibromyalgia, obesity, and was diagnosed with borderline. Her life was tough, but she was always there when I needed her. Always cheering me up when I was down with her humor, she had this almost morbid kind of humor. We shared so much fun, but also worries and sadness. She pushed my car and I pushed hers....

I made a long drive today. At one point I stopped to get some fresh air and sit on a wooden bench close to the road I was standing. As I turned away from the car I saw this street sign. 'Loesje laan'. In English it would be 'little Louise lane'....

I'm gonna miss her so very very much....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.