Family history new discovery

Last night I discovered that Ancestry were offering free access to the 1911 census just for this weekend. I then spent several hours searching for as many of my immediate ancestors I knew where alive in 1911. This is what I found:

Newly weds Oswald and Marjorie Bedell in St Albans my great grandparents

Grandpa Vivian Linford at boarding school at Alywin College, Arnside

His mum Annie Linford and two siblings in Manchester

His father Albert was a patient in an asylum

My great grandparents Owen and Hannah Jones in Ormskirk

Great, great granny Jane Kellet running the Station Inn in Skelmersdale with my great granny Lillie and two more daughters

Great grandpa Charles Band (who married Lillie in 1915) was a teacher in Bickerstaffe

Then I struck gold with 2x great grandparents Edward and Martha Spencer. His birthplace was recorded as Beggars Bush Barracks, Dublin!!!

So off I went to Google to find out more! I came across the marriage of his parents in 1848 which is the record in this image. It gave me the names of the fathers too so I have now added Timothy Dunne to my tree as a new 4x great grandfather.

As for 3x grandpa Edward I now need to find out more about his career in the 55th (Westmorland) regiment. What was a Yorkshireman doing serving with them?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.