This is a far as we got today!

Our plans to travel up to Northumberland today have been thwarted by my dad's illness. My brother ended up taking him to the hospital for 8am this morning first to Pontefract and then on to Wakefield. They've decided to keep him in overnight until they've completed tests, though I'm guessing they will allow him home tomorrow or Monday. He's much weakened and very tired at the moment but otherwise in good spirits. He's got a very nice en-suite room on the fourth floor of the first tin can.

I don't think he'll be fit to go on holiday, so I'm not sure how the week will pan out or whether some of our group will still be able to go away.

The photo is for Arroset who used to work on this site when it was nothing but a bunch of WW2 Nissan huts!

p.s. Don't be misled by the map - it shows the old site. A vast car-park now covers the area where the huts used to stand. I'd love to know where the school has been rebuilt as I used to visit in times gone by.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.