Arachne

By Arachne

St Michael at the North Gate

This 950-year-old tower is, along with the castle tower, the oldest surviving building in Oxford. It was originally just within the city wall (which no longer exists). You can climb the tower in daylight for good views of the city and surrounding hills, or wait until Oxford's 'winter light night' each December, climb in the dark and stumble around the uneven top with a lot of strangers. It's much more fun at night, which also feels a more appropriate time to see the entrance to the prison cell in the tower where the protestant martyrs, including Archbishop Cranmer, were locked up before being burnt at the stake nearby (just outside Waterstones bookshop) in 1556.

By omitting the base of the tower and cunningly including the only two trees in the street, I think I've removed any clue that this is in Oxford's central shopping area.

This is also my contribution to the symmetry challenge. I've taken a few symmetrical pictures this week but was bored by them. I prefer the off-symmetry of this.

I have a very hefty week coming up. I'll try to keep blipping but I won't be commenting much until I emerge. Please don't contemplate the heresy that I've forgotten you. (We have towers with uneven tops and prison cells for that sort of thing.)

Many thanks for all the kindnesses about yesterday's. Much appreciated.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.