Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Putting my jeweled Blip-flops up

Today these incredibly snazzy Havaianas arrived, shipped from Brazil by Digitaldaze and Barrioboy who are currently in Scotland helping her brother settle into his new home with the help of the "blue and yellow emporium." Said emporium accounts for the furniture you see in the background here.

I have been under the sway of a migraine for the last three days, a result of too much running around, not having the discipline to say no and be still. So today, after the New Jim Crow book group, I came home, collected my mail and discovered THESE, and did not even go out into the sunshine again. Instead, I put my jeweled feet up, put daughter Palesa's favorite song for me on repeat, and sobbed my way through a pot of rooibos tea and a bag of chocolate cookies. Palesa is my daughter born in Lesotho, diagnosed bipolar when she was fifteen, doped on Risperdal and Depakote and repeatedly hospitalized while she was in the USA. She hated drugs and hospitals and went back to South Africa and her birth family in 2001 and has been drug-free ever since. She was treated by traditional healers, stabilized, and was doing well the last time I saw her, in 2010. Sadly, her cell phone seems to have stopped working, so I've had no update this year.

When Dd and Bb bought me these flip-flops they were intensely busy, running from Rio to Sao Paolo, dodging between skyscrapers and airports, and I can't imagine how they found the time to seek these out and mail them. But they arrived at the perfect time, just in time for Mother's Day in the USA, and they give me great delight. I tend to choose unexceptional footwear. These are a wonderful change for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.