FarmerGirl

By FarmerGirl

Where the sheep are shorn.....

It's my turn to milk the cows today and tomorrow, so I took my camera with me in anticipation of taking some photo's of the cows being milked. I took quite a few photo (as you do!), but when I downloaded them, not one seemed to jump out and say 'pick me'.

So after lunch I put on my redbands (gumboots) and went for a wonder around the farm. It had been raining off and on during the morning, was cold, and we even had a wee bit of thunder during milking. So everywhere I went was rather muddy!

After taking several shots, I decided to head down the paddock that had the woolshed in it and took a few pictures of it. I love the colour in this shot, the green grass, silver shed, autumn coloured trees and the cloudy overcast sky. So this had to be my blip for today!

Along with dairy farming, we use to have around 200 ewes, however we now only have a few sheep that we use for our own meat. The shed is therefore somewhat abandoned now, although is occasionly used to shear our remaining sheep. Underneath the shed are holding pens which are ideal for sheltering young calves when the weather turns cold in spring.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.