Views from the Edge

By ElviraTSquirrel

being 15 again

Ok, today's blip (actually a back blip as its now Sunday morning and I'm waiting for my bread to prove) is a photo of my computer screen.

nope...its not a bird or a macro or a picture of the countryside as usual. Its an actual photo of my screen.

Yesterday...piddling about on Twitter as usual, something happened that my 15 year old self would have squealed at (in fact I did squeal...and I hope he never reads this!) Now Ive met the odd celeb often enough to know that they are real people...just like you and me, only with jobs that bring them into the public eye and make life a little surreal for them. So I treat them like anyone else. I tweet a hell of a lot and speak to a few celebs along the way...and yes its a two way conversation (some even follw me too), and we have a laugh. Like I say, I treat em like anyone else and I am a "conversationalist" (in other words I like talking to people). However I do follow a few that I know will never talk to me or, even more likely, never see my tweet. Stephen Fry follows me and I follow him...but he's very unlikely to catch the odd tweet I send his way.

Anyway....yesterday Andrew McCarthy tweeted jokingly that he was considering unfollowing the Dalai Lama but was afraid that it would bring bad Karma.....me being me, I tweeted something in the region of "unfollow him, follow me instead and Karma will be restored" And he did!

Now he only follows about 240 people and Im under no illusions that an unfollow is likely to come in the not too distant future....but..... BUT..... I adored this man when I was a teenager. Ok, he's only about 6 yrs older than me, but I was a total fan-girl back then.

So this made my day. I didnt actually expect a follow, I dont as a rule ask people to follow me...I wouldnt want to inflict my boring life on anyone like that, but I did it to jokingly let him see that all would be well. He seems like a lovely bloke, a little shy but normal.

What I didnt expect was my jumping up and down, grinning from ear to ear, squealing like a girl, calm and collected reaction to a follow by someone I'll never meet but admired when I was a teenager.

Oh and someone bought my picture in the MS Trust Secret Art Show

Quite a good day :)

(Ps....@Eastermoon is my sister....she is lovely and would probably enjoy a few new followers)

oh yes....and Im @psychodwarf (dont ask!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.