Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Warmer clothes or warmer climes

After that brief sight of warm weather and blue skies yesterday, we're back to the usual windy cold day, although so far, no rain. I thought I did hear thunder just then, but it was just the wind down the chimney.

My usual Sunday morning in front of TV in my jammies (and dressing gown, of course), breakfasting, coffee-ing and browsing on my iPad. I had a blip in mind, just down the road, so there was no rising panic as the day wore on.

When I eventually did wander down, muffled up like I was going on an expedition, there was a car parked right where I didn't want it to be. This made my planned shot impossible. I may go back later and see if this inconsiderate person has moved it. But they too, may be planning to have a whole day in front of TV in their jammies!

I wandered back past this fine display of clematis (note that I know the name of these little beauties). It was so windy, I had to keep waiting for lulls in the gusts to get a shot that wasn't blurred. There was a person standing nearby, waiting for someone, who obviously wondered why I didn't choose a nicer day for taking my photo...

I won't go on about my cold, which is still here (two weeks now). I don't want you to think I'm a hypochondriac. But I've gone through two man-sized boxes of tissues this week, and my head feels like it's filled with that gloopy stuff they put in lava lamps (without the vivid colours), especially when I'm horizontal. So not sleeping too well. Even when I don't leave the electric blanket on half the night.

If we don't get some proper weather soon I think I might need to move to a warm country... Australia! Can I wait another six weeks? Which reminds me, must go and book those tickets from Sydney to Brisbane. That'll cheer me up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.