Daily Life in the Bogs

By RobinS

Mother's Day

The first time we had a good look at the deer we know live in and around our property was when my mother was staying with us in June of 2009. Mom and Dad were sitting on the back porch, helping us get decorations ready for our youngest son's wedding rehearsal dinner when the deer came walking through the meadow. Mom spotted them first. There were a couple of does with their fawns, and we oooh'd and ahhh'd over how cute they were.

My mother died later that year. We saw deer at the cemetery after her funeral. Since then, on days like Mother's Day and Mom's birthday, days which seem to emphasize our loss, a deer will show up to remind me that Mom is still with me, in my heart and in my memories. The doe in this photo came by early this morning. Happy Mother's Day. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.