Heart and Souled

By DebsP

"Mancini's Wish"

Two injury time goals and the city is turned blue for the first time since 1968.
As a neutral I can't help but be chuffed to bits as the 'noisy neighbours' of Manchester United come good on the day. Shops shut early round these parts so folk can get to the football games - it matters. I heard a lass in the butchers saying she wanted the win for her Grandad in his 100th year. I wanted it for her Grandad too.
The clouds and vapour trail came together as they were crossing the line. In my mind they form the seed from a huge dandelion clock. The manager blew on it and wished for blue heaven.

"I see skies of blue ....clouds of white
Bright blessed days ...dark sacred nights
and I think to myself what a wonderful world" *

*Louis Armstrong - Number One when they last won.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.