Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

The dad dance

The three of us were sat around, doing cans and reminiscing about the Bandung holiday. So much I had almost forgotten, it is amazing what sticks in different people's minds. Then One of them said, "Do you remember the dad dance" and then both of them fell about laughing as they explained it to me.

This is a blip of my son John and his friend and roommate, Mike, demonstrating 'the Dad dance', a move that is occasionally revisited in bars and nightclubs towards the end of the evening when far too much silly juice has been consumed. More often used as a victory dance, reserved for the most significant victories, like fluking the tie breaker in the final set. I am guessing that this move needs some explanation.

Three years ago John and Mike came out to Indonesia to visit with me for a month. The trip served several functions, one of which was to determine whether they could live together and still remain friends, it does not always work.

They had hardly unpacked their bags when I dragged them off to Braga street and the North Sea bar. By about the fourth beer, John reminded me that I needed to call Mom, to let her know that the boys had arrived safely. Ex wifey and I enjoy winding each other up, so it seemed quite surprising that she should fall for my line. The conversation from my end went something like this:

"I waited for nearly an hour, but when they did not show, I went back home, are they still over there"?

"Of course I asked if everyone was off the plane, maybe they got stuck in Dubai, can you call the airline and check"?

"It's midnight here, how do you expect me to get to Jakarta now, it's a four hour drive"!
"Give me a call if you hear anything from them".

Then followed a long and rather high pitched rant from ex-wifey, half way through which I handed the phone to John and proceeded to invent 'the Dad dance. As I will NOT be making a video so you will just have to make do with a written description: A bit like trying to start a difficult petrol lawn mower or as John more accurately described it, repeatedly punching a midget in the face, followed by a brainless footballer celebration around the pool table, like after winning the penalty shootout at the European cup final.

A lot of text, so will leave the differences until tomorrow.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.