How very ceremonious

At 8:30 am, I was outside, planting. It got a bit warmer and sunnier than I prefer for doing yard work, simply because it wears me out quicker and requires me to take frequent breaks. The mulch flew, the plants were watered in thoroughly, the huge pile of flat pebbles was carried back in and at 5:30 pm, the last river pebble was carefully embedded in the pea gravel path. Mr. M* did the honors with great poise, dignity and ceremony. Now to watch the new flora grow, get fuller and taller, bloom and attract hummingbirds and butterflies.

Just as I thought my day couldn't get any more wonderful, my former neighbor showed up to clean up the yard around his rental house and informed me that the tenant with the big, black dog will be moving out in July. This summer, I won't have to get all worked up, watching the lonely creature spend entire days and some nights outside in his crappy dog house with no companionship.

On this Mother's Day, I wished more than usual that my mom could be here with me. I inherited my intense, burning love of gardening from her. She is a hard worker too, keeps a beautiful garden in summer and would have liked this project.

*His face is just as handsome as the rest of him but he's a bit shy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.