Emergency Blip???

I don't think this is what people mean when they say they took an emergency blip. In a way, this is the epitome of one such blip.

Disbelieving that I had actually spent time with my lovely mum, grammapat, on Mother's Day, and didn't take a single picture, I truly was resigned to going to bed without a blip tonight. While I sat at my computer, I heard a loud explosion, but didn't think anything of it. We hear all kinds of sounds, just another sound.

Well, not so much. This sound happened to be the propane tanks on a 5th wheel a few houses away. I wasn't going to look around, but I heard yelling and sirens...thought I oughta.

The fire was huge for a short time, but there were neighbors coming home late and happened to see the flame from up the hill and called the fire dept. immediately. Thank you!!! The rest of us were either sleeping or ignoring the boom! The folks in the 5th wheel heard the explosion and the smoke detector and, thankfully, got out safely. Thanks to our neighborly callers, the fire was arrested very quickly and the trees remain intact.

I do admit that, even though it looked like the forest may catch on fire and we may need to evacuate, I did make grabbing my camera a priority. Fortunately, I also thought to bring my whole purse so I'd have my I. D. etc. Obviously, I haven't gone completely over the deep-blip-edge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.