Northern Star

By Lifferz

The lesser spotted Harketus

I went to Birmingham tonight after work and saw Morten Harket. I didn't see any of the fellow fans I thought I would but ended up chatting to 2 people who said they were impressed I'd come on my own. Despite wearing my uniform of a tatty 2006 a-ha T shirt it was clear that one of the people I was talking to was a die hard fan....much more so than me. The gig was very good, better than I expected to be honest.' Move to Memphis' was one of the best versions that I have heard and 'We're looking for the Whales' (I know it's an odd name for a song) was great stuff it's an 80's thing that one- you had to be there!!!

I wasn't too happy with how they did 'Crying in the Rain' it was really loud and over produced IMO when they did the thundery rain intro and then the guitarist did some sort of homage (slight I guess in the grand scheme of things) to Jimmi Hendrix...it didn't work at all for me. I hope no one was taking pictures in my direction as my face would have been aghast with horror. I should say I am probably very biased. I have 2 silver bangles which I wear...one says "David Bowie moves me" and the other says, "But Pal Waaktaar rocks my world".....don't worry if this doesn't make sense to you...it just means that the guitarist would have had to do something pretty amazing for me to be impressed.

I must say that when Morten explained Phil Everley bought him the guitar he was playing tonight back in 1987 I was interested in that story ...and decided to blip a pic featuring the said guitar.

On the way home I got lost for a good 45 minutes when my sat nav decided to disable itself...and at that time of night with only enough fuel to get home....I had a little chuckle to myself NOT!!!!!

In other news today ....I got accosted by a woman in the post office which was really bizzare...the staff were ignoring her she was talking about women sticking together or something rather forcefully...I just smiled and agreed but i felt like the only person in the room who had no idea about what was going on. I ate my lunch quickly in the car today and as I sat there a large Jay with gorgeous blue colouring on it's wings sat on the tree next to me. This morning I got elected during a vote at work "unanimously"...that will never happen again and some people clapped which I didn't really know how to respond to smiled nervously. I sent some videos off you tube to my friend to show him how many bridges there are in Venice...I have probably come across as amazingly patronising but I don't want him to be surprised by it if he decides to take a huge wheeled suitcase.

Final news is I got a really strong feeling that I was going to see a fox tonight on the drive home (I haven't seen one for about 8 months now). I did...it crossed the road infront of me and it was the most beautiful fox I have ever seen in my life, big, beautiful colouration and a fabulous white tip on (her) tail. My mother always told me I was psychic...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.