East Coasting

By OzBeachcomber

Not my office desk....

- but much more fun.

I've been lacking in inspiration for blip subjects lately and it's also getting a bit cold and dark in the late afternoon when I usually go for a walk - so today I've blipped my little section of the utility room/laundry which I have taken over for my other little hobby/obsession. However, I have to be in the right mood for this one as it needs a lot of concentration and patience (which I only have sometimes).
I make hand applique quilts, only for family and friends but I especially love doing the kids ones. It's a bit crazy - it involves cutting up lots of little pieces of fabric and, to cut a long story short, assembling them all on to a fabric background and hand stitching them together again( with a bit of other detail in between) to make a particular pattern. The one I'm working on at the moment is a Teddy bear Quilt for my niece who loves teddies. Sorry it's such a c#@* photo but I couldn't seem to get any detail in it.
You will be able to see the pattern of the current block I'm doing on the back wall - it has 31 little pieces that make up the two teddies.
I would love a separate room with a cutting area and storage as well but I manage ok with this little nook. I have a cupboard just outside in the hallway in which I store my machine and a bit of the other overflow!
The latest quilt that I have nearly finished, Toys for Boys, is in my Blipfolio, I am just waiting to get some red fabric to do the binding and it will be done ready to give to Mr 1 who will be 2 soon. I'll give it to him for his birthday along with the obligatory "truck" as he is truck mad at the moment. Check it out here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.