A Quiet Meal

{ back blip from tuesday, december 16, 2014 - my FIRST entry using blipfoto's brand NEW format! }

Some of my best memories revolve around shared meals. I grew up surrounded by foodies. Both my parents and the one grandparent I ever knew were excellent cooks. My dad's family often joined us on weekends, and we dined, "Asian-style" with all the food in the middle and then it was everyone for themselves to dig in.

Now, I work from home. I'm alone most of the day so I'm used to spending a lot of time inside my own head. I like it there. And since I like to eat, too, it only makes sense that I should combine two enjoyable activities into one.

Tonight, I prepared for myself a salad of kale, brussel sprouts, and lots of apples, a handful of fresh asparagus, peas, and a hard-boiled egg. A delicious Zinfandel complemented this quiet meal very well. There is such a pleasure in paying undivided attention to what's going on in your head and on your plate. It's a quieter satisfaction; but in a world so crowded with noise, one that's sometimes more deeply felt.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.