Carlton Boyce

By MotoringJourno

Isn't the world a very noisy place?

This is a Phonak Audeo Q-50, one of two hearing aids I picked up yesterday after 15 years of denial. They are, it's fair to say, a miracle of engineering: clever, highly effective and just about invisible when you are wearing them.

The trouble is, they might be too good. My life has, for the last decade-and-a-half, been lived to a backbeat that is muddy, muted, and dull. Now I'm flooded with a never-ending, piercing cacophony; Meghan Trainor extolls the virtues of the bass and given my life is now all about the treble, I'm inclined to support her. I'm not sure I don't prefer my previously muted cocoon...

I'm sure I'll get used to it, but in the meantime can I just observe that the world is a very, very noisy place?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.