Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

I'm Late, I'm Late.....

After my emotional and exhausting first day back at work yesterday, I overslept this morning and arrived at Broadcasting House more than an hour later than I was supposed to.  Luckily, my very understanding and supportive boss was half-expecting this to happen and didn't tell me off.  As it was a day in the office allocating the team's January shifts, the start and finish times were a moveable feast anyway.

I spent all day thinking about my parents and also about my nephew, who had spinal surgery this morning to remove two prolapsed discs and replace them with spacers.  All went well during the operation, and he hopes to be discharged from hospital at the weekend.  So my sister now has her son to worry about as well as our parents.  We're wondering when (and if) life will ever become less fraught and stressful.  Dad realised that he can't even get a toe into any of his shoes because of his very swollen feet and calves, so I've ordered him some special comfy boot-like slippers with adjustable Velcro straps which he can wear for trips out.  I also ended up speaking to one of the Macmillan nurses I met in the Royal Brompton last week, with a query about Dad's drain bag which he and Mum were worrying about.  Thankfully I was able to put their minds at rest after a quick phone call.  It's good to know that such knowledgeable people are on hand for us to check out things that we don't know or understand.  It's all been a very steep learning curve for my family, and for poor Mum in particular.

After finishing work, a quick stroll along Oxford Street to see the snowflake lanterns after dark reminded me that there are now only 8 shopping days 'til Christmas and I haven't so much as written one card, let alone done any shopping.  I usually cut it a bit fine to get organised with cards and presents, but this year it's all got way too late even for me...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.