A haven of peace

A day of report writing and shopping - first for food and then into Peterborough for Christmas presents. I had been planning to photograph the Christmas decorations, but in the end they all looked a bit cheap and gaudy. Peterborough prides itself on having one of the lowest Council Tax rates in the country, and very sensibly has re-used lights from previous years. Unfortunately the result seems to be a mish-mash of styles, with no cohesion or beauty.

Instead I walked through the arch into the Cathedral Precincts, which are always a haven of peace a world away from the hubbub of Christmas shoppers. I'm not sure whether the West Front of the Cathedral has ever appeared in my journal. If not, it is an oversight, because the Cathedral is one of the true treasures of the city. 

So far I'm rather liking the re-incarnation of Blipfoto. I initially had reservations about the white background, but I think the new layout makes the text easier to read and I like the larger colour thumbnails. How is everyone else finding it?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.