Fortress

The profile of one of the hills/mountains here has always been adorned by a little square towery building. I happened upon a path up to it today (I didn't know where it was going, I was just exploring). When I eventually reached the top I discovered that there are in fact a whole bunch of abandoned buildings up there, left over from the mining. (Abandoned but for the sheep, at least.) It was wonderfully grim.

The mining. Which is still going on. I knew this, but I was still somewhat taken aback when the ground shook and a siren went off close at hand...! (My sangfroid wasn't helped by the siren sounding like the smoke monster from Lost.) There was still a final ridge cutting off my view of where the mining was evidentally going on; when I approached it I could see the top of a yellow digger scooting about.

And then I got very wet on the way back down, because it decided to rain/hail.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.