CoffeePotter

By CoffeePotter

Where did their heads go?

I had an appointment in Stratford this morning. Alright, I was attempting to tart myself up a little for the office Christmas "do" this evening.  Obviously, the tarting up failed :-)
I made my way back to the car park, and passed the Royal Shakespeare Theatre when I suddenly remembered that they have an exhibition on at the moment, about Bruce Bairnsfather. He was a very famous British cartoonist during the First World War, and he came from Stratford. There is a production on at the RST at the moment called "The Christmas Truce" and it is based on Bairnsfather's works during the war.
The exhibition was very interesting, and I did take lots of photos of the exhibits - cartoons, memorabilia, and old photographs, but they don't really work well  as a blip.
As I was about to leave the exhibition I noticed the door at the far end was open, so I headed through that way and found myself in what is the Art Deco bar on the first floor. The place was absolutely deserted, and there had been not one person in the exhibition either. I walked through the bar, and came to this beautiful Art Deco staircase at the far end. I must admit that I really don't like heights so had to hold onto the wall in order to take this photo.
The first thing C said when he saw it was "Where's their heads?". The answer is - I don't know. The models are merely there for showing off the costumes.
I had a really lovely saunter around everywhere, and took loads of photos, and did not see one person, until I almost reached the entrance doors on my way back out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.