Winter: Scapa Flow

This view is from the old boat noust off the Breck.  The Flow is fairly beginning to heave about again with the wind rising and hail showers rattling through.

I just had to break out and visit the noust.  CMC had deserted me (yes - again) to go into the toon. Again.  Ostensibly to play badminton but I noticed she came home with more shopping - her credit card was carried in on a stretcher.  Whilst she was away I attempted to tighten the toilet seat (who said romance was deid ?).  I now know that the designers of the new toilet should be made to serve at least 12 years on the tools before being let loose.  I managed to lose a pair of bull nose snips somewhere at the back of the porcelain (retrieved) and then a mirror (still in situ). 

The boat noust reminds me.  The last fisherman to use the noust regularly was an Alec Findlay.  In 1929, infamously, the Orphir Football team kicked off a match and this was the line up:  (you’ll be thankful this was the in the days before substitutes; players would even complete 90 minutes before having to feign injury to dash off to check their bank accounts).  The team was: Goalkeeper: Findlay, full backs Findlay and Findlay, half backs, Findlay, Findlay and Findlay.  The forward line was: Findlay, Findlay, Findlay, Findlay and Findlay.  I’m not sure whether they played ‘one in the hole’ or 4 - 5 - 1.  More research required.  God Bless Tiny Wharton.

It’s good I don’t have to bottle this up - which I did pre-Blip.  I previously threw a lot of bottles in the Flow.  They are still coming back. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.