a town called E.

By Eej

Darling,

We've been together for 5 years now. I didn't think it was quite that long yet, but somehow we got caught up in a timey-wimey wibbly-wobbly thing - and all of a sudden there it was; our 5 year anniversary. Well, it was 2 days ago, but who knew then? Not me. Clearly.

I loved you from the moment I set eyes on you. You felt like I was coming home. Friendly, kind, good looking, sort of easy ... ;) What more could I ask for?
We went through a lot together, you and I. There were dark days, and very happy ones. I treasured the memories you gave me, helped me preserve. You made me look for the good, the precious.

I didn't want you to change. I liked you just the way you were. That said, change is inevitable and while it's not something I am generally good at, I was prepared to be by your side through thick and thin, whatever life would bring us.

But when you changed, darling, you lost something. You lost a bit of your soul. It feels like you have exchanged yourself for a younger model and I don't know how to deal with that. Was it really necessary to change THIS much? To completely abandon your roots? I hardly recognise what you have become and while I can see the potential of many of your new traits, some I find particularly hard to embrace.

I feel so, so lost.
And you are not reaching out with a hand to help me through. Though you might say you shouldn't have to.

I am not giving up on us. I have invested in you. I have invested in ME, through you. What I will do is take a good hard look at our relationship. It is clear to me that my love for you is NOT unconditional, and your love for me ... well. I'm not saying it isn't there, but you've managed to hide it quite well.


Happy 5th, my love. Have a non-balloon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.