Old friends and new

It's been a lovely day today. So nice this afternoon and evening that I stopped noticing the grey skies, heavy rain and battering wind for a few hours. A friend who I only know slightly invited me to lunch with another friend of hers: all of us writers. So spent the afternoon chatting happily in front of a real fire, eating a super lunch, and so on. My new acquaintance and I discovered we grew up in the same part of the country, too!

Then it was home and off out again to the last pre-Christmas Line Dance, where we broke off to eat mince pies et al. We did familiar dances but several were to Christmas music, making them feel quite different.

So when I just came home to our seasonally lit house, I suggested to Mr PP that we round off the day with a sherry. (It was his last pre-crimbo U3A this morning, too.) My mother embroidered the table runner in the photo from a kit that she bought in Germany back in the 1960s, so it takes me back to many past Christmasses. I remember her being very thrilled with the gold thread.

Back to facing the realities of painting and decorating tomorrow, but today has been a lovely warm up to Christmas.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.