jaunty

Fortunately, the irregular clack turned into a freely-spinning and quite-obviously-not-properly-attached-any-more freewheel when I was going at a relatively gentle pace along the Roseburn path, with not too much farther to go, whereas the same thing happening at the apogee of my roundabout route on a road might not have been fun. A record two people stopped to enquire about my circumstances, beating the previous record of the one person who once asked if my rear dynolight was OK when I was twiddling with its wires one evening at the side of Peffermill Road. Although I felt a fresh cheap replacement wheel would simultaneously solve the problem of the knackered hub and rebuilt-but-still-old-and-cheap rim I knew I had another freewheel up in the loft so had to walk all the way home, with only a brief scootle-standing-on-the-pedal along a quieter street and a bit of bike path as I'd decided to take home the mudguards I collected from the shop on Friday but left in the office, which would have rattled significantly (as would the extra wheel, similarly lashed to the rack) had I scootled on the cobblier streets.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.