Pictorial blethers

By blethers

A favourite corner

Perhaps it was a lack of enthusiasm born of the new and horrid Blipfoto look, but I found myself heading to bed with not a single photo from today. The above offering, then, comes from my sitting-room, where a particular corner always makes me feel calm and connected to my past.

The lamp, just visible on the left, was a wedding present from my colleagues in Woodside Secondary School in Glasgow. The shade is ... very '70s, and I'm unwilling to change it. The two icons - the Rublev Trinity and a smaller one of St Michael - come from Crete, an island I have had six holidays in so far and to which I shall return in May. The watercolour between them shows the polychromatic tiles and a golden seraph from beside the altar in the Cathedral of The Isles on Cumbrae, another important place for me. And finally the two small replica masks, tragedy and comedy, were a present brought home from a holiday by my parents - so very dear to me. 

Just below the pictures, and not visible in the photo, is an electronic harpsichord, which is a link to the era of music that is so important to me, though the instrument belongs to Mr PB and I rarely play it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.