Mostly Six Five Oh

By nhc

MAX

Feeling wiped out today.  Slept badly last night.  

Took the MAX out to Cascade Station to return some things.  After an irritating morning dealing with some admin stuff it was soothing just to sit on the MAX from Lloyd District out to Cascades and back, watching things go by. 

I forgot to mention in an earlier blip that I went to see a couple of photographic exhibitions at the Portland Art Museum.  When I got to PAM I decided to look at the Blue Sky photography collection first; it was pretty large and very diverse.  I then went to look at the Richard Mosse installation called The Enclave, I'd been hearing quite a bit about it and had seen images in magazines of his stunning photographs from the Democratic Republic of the Congo that he'd taken with a now discontinued military surveillance film that photographs living foliage in bright pinks and purples.  There were some still photographs but the main part of The Enclave was an audio visual documentary film projected onto 6 large, double-sided screens - I could hear the soundtrack from 3 floors down as I was making my way to the gallery.  It was daunting, haunting, bizarrely and beautifully colorful.  Several days on, I'm still digesting what I saw and keep thinking about certain images.  If it makes it to a museum in your part of the world I recommend seeing it, but it's not for the faint of heart.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.