JournoJan

By JanPatienceArt

As Time Goes. By

This is a picture of a Time magazine 'front cover' I made 10 years ago to celebrate my parents-in-law's 50th wedding anniversary.
Today is Dom and Sheila's 60th wedding anniversary, which is quite an achievement when you sit down and think about it. They've had a quiet day ahead of the storm of Christmas and a family wedding, which will see their seven children plus partners and grand kids coming together just before new year.
All very noisy - and great fun.
It's a privilege and a constant learning curve being part a large family. I just have one brother.
Social media-shy husband is number five in the pecking order and the Henry Kissinger comment on the faux front cover is a reference to his role of family peacemaker
Today there are apps a-plenty which help you make such a thing, but back then, using the newspaper design package Quark Express, I used to rustle front covers up for friends and family. I even did it as a sort of small business enterprise, but found I could only really conjure up the magical ingredients which made them work if I actually knew the person(s) in question.
It scratched a creative itch and I loved coming up with 'cover lines' to match the image.
I love the black and white wedding picture of Dom and Sheila. It was taken in Toronto, where they met and married after a whirlwind romance.
They look so young and totally delighted with life. Just gorgeous.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.