Nebulising in Room 5

I look chuffed to bits don't I?

The day started superbly well, what with it being our co-worker breakfast and all and thid year we recieved a Kindle. Smashing, thank you.

Then I headed to get my long awaited respiritory tests at The Western Infirmary. I was taken to room 4 by a male nurse who began by putting my finger in a clippy thing and taking my heart rate, which we watched and listened to on the computer. He told me to try to relax and mortifyingly  my heart rate instantly got faster. Then back to room 4 to be left on my own for 10  minutes rigged up to the nebuliser, giving me the opportunity to take blurry photos before anyone caught me.

Back to room 5 to repeat some breathing tests. Now, when total stranger of the opposite sex puts a big blue nose clip on you, hands you a tube and instructs you to take a few breaths then "give me a really big blow Aileen, as fast and hard as you can", then when you do it he keeps his finger on your knee and says "blow, blow, blow, blow, blow, keep going, keep going aaaaannnd, take a breath", I don't know about the rest of you but to me that's instantly funny. I felt like I was channelling Kenneth Williams! I could't blow without sniggering and giggling so he made me do it six times in order to get an accurate reading (apologies to Opendoor).

He said his job isn't usually that much fun and trust me I can believe if having seen the folks waiting to go in after me.

Results due in January but I'm really not sure what kind of diagnosis they're going to bring.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.