From Above

I love dressing up!

Both of my boys attended a secondary school where I was a teacher. You might think that this would have been fraught with difficulty but it wasn’t………………..except for Christmas Assemblies. 

Every year on the last day of the term leading up to Christmas all 1200 of the school’s students would be led into the sport’s hall for a few speeches by important people, some performances by the school choir and orchestra, wise words from the head but most importantly and most eagerly awaited a performance of some kind by the staff. 

I love dressing up. 

Every year I was the first to volunteer to perform in anything. Our performance was usually based on panto and I was almost always the fairy godmother. My friend Richard in the art department would make me some beautiful wings and a wand. One year I had a wand that sprinkled fairy dust all over the pupils in the front row. They loved it. On a couple of occasions we had a change from tradition and tried to get a bit more modern and I appeared as Baby Spice and danced my way through a Spice Girls number. Once we did an S Club 7 number. I bump into ex-students even now who remind me about one or other of these performances. 

So picture the scene. 1200 students clapping and singing along, thoroughly enjoying seeing their teachers being a bit silly. But look very, very carefully and there will be two boys in the crowd with their hands over their eyes trying not to watch their mother dressed up and behaving like a fairy. Years later they claim to be still traumatised by it.  So imagine the shock on my oldest son’s face this morning when he popped in to find me dressed like this trying to take a selfie!! I think he might have to go back into therapy!!

I love dressing up. 

My formative years were spent in miniskirts so if the dressing up involves a short skirt I’m even happier. I can still hear my Dad’s most used phrase during the 1960s (I was one of four teenage girls) “you’re not going out in that!! Go back upstairs and get dressed!!” (you can add a northern accent if you like, I was brought up in Manchester). So if you’re watching me from above, Dad, soooooorry!! (and I probably ought to also say sorry to Chantler for such a tenuous link to today’s challenge).

Today’s blip is me in my spin class outfit for this morning. We were told to wear something Christmassy. I think possibly that just meant wear some antlers or a Christmas hat or maybe a pair of Christmas themed earrings but I just couldn’t resist this because……… 


I love dressing up!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.