Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Flying chairs

Thursday is late-opening night for the shops in Glasgow, and the last Thursday before Christmas takes that to a new level: the city centre was buzzing with shoppers.

I had only gone into the city with the intention of taking a few photos, but ended up buying a few Christmas gifts myself - it gets you that way (although I have to say in my defence that I knew what I wanted and didn't succumb to any impulse buys).

On the other hand, this Thursday evening was also rather wet and so wandering round a bright, dry, warm shopping mall was preferable to wandering around in the cold and wet. So a few shots of Buchanan Street Christmas lights, a few of the carnival in George Square, not forgetting the Nativity Scene and the Cenotaph with the City Chambers in the background and I had had enough. Jumped on the bus and came back home for a later dinner.

After all that, I decided to post this shot of the flying chairs with the big wheel in the background.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.