Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

City Park Rainbows

Walking down to the city centre from campus this evening, it looked like smoke was rising over City Park, and then I realised that the *Tallest Urban Fountain in the UK* was at full stretch. Just as I arrived to take a picture, it stopped. And then @yearofhappy turned up beside me, also lured in by the fountain, and also just too late.

We turned the occasion into an impromptu blip-off, and were rewarded ten minutes later when the big fountain came back on and then the rainbows appeared. We discovered we were standing in the spray, so each picture had to be followed by a quick wipe of the lens, and then off again. No great finesse in composition, just trying to make sure I caught the phenomenon. I'm not sure if anyone else has photographed the rainbows before, but this is certainly the first in the City Park Flickr Pool at least.

Exciting!

arcing
through the fountain
two rainbows

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.