Swearing is seldom clever, but a bellowed "YOU DOZY MOTHERFUCKER" seems appropriate when someone pushes you off your bike and onto the ground using their motor car. Fortunately, he had only had a lane's width of acceleration from stationary and I was going at a speed appropriate to being about to turn right on wet ground, so my elbow and ankle are the only bits of broken skin, with the outer glove ablating to save my inner glove and hand. I assume my hip and/or knee was involved somewhere, but there's no visible bruising, just a slight discomfort in my right upper underthigh when seated. My right ankle and elbow and knee will be stiff in the morning; my head hit neither the windscreen, bonnet nor ground, so was only affected internally through the administration of adrenaline, allowing the "DOZY MOTHERFUCKER" to be bellowed from a standing position.

Fortunately, the dozy motherfucker in question made no attempt to leave the scene; fortunately, a passing pedestrian stopped and gave me his number in case I needed it; fortunately, as well as being somewhat wound-up I was able to do things like photograph his number plate, record him admitting his failure to properly observe, get his purported name and get his number, prior to the lengthier process of attracting the interest of the police. It seems that a visible physical injury was the key thing in making them interested enough to want to attend, rather than the mere fact that someone in purported control of a car had failed to operate it sufficiently safely to not drive it into a brightly-lighted moving cyclist in daylight, which I understand to be illegal. I tried my best to be as helpful as possible to the police but may have glared and pointed emphatically at my head (clad in a fluorescent yellow buff with a white Scotchlite strip down the middle), waved my bright yellow gloves at them, gestured at the daylight sky and demonstrated the brightness of my front light a little bit when one of them asked me if I'd been wearing hi-viz. His explanation that he and his car-mate had just come from a similar incident at a similar popular spot for collisions did not seem particularly relevant.

The bike's most obvious collision-derived problems are a rear wheel which won't rotate and a front wheel with an obvious bend which wasn't there before, but whilst the pannier might have absorbed some of the impact (particularly the sideways one from the car, although possibly not the one from the ground) I'll be taking it somewhere to inspect the frame professionally.

Throughout the entire process the driver seemed unusually calm; if I knocked someone off their bike I'd be highly adrenalised and somewhat shitting myself, not calmly repeating fault via SMIDSY and offering to pay for the damage; makes me wonder if it wasn't a novel experience for him.

Fortunately, I still made it to the wingpiglet's winter festive nursery play.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.